Drinking the Who-lade

About six months ago my niece, then 3 1/2, became obsessed with Doctor Who. She loved The Doctor so much that she was often found hiding away clutching any device with a Netflix app that she could get her hands on. One morning, my sister woke up to find Tiny (my niece’s nickname) cuddled up next to her in bed, iPhone in hand. The credits were rolling on the episode after the one they’d left off on the night before. Later that day, when my sis wanted to catch up, Tiny was like, “Uh, no … I’ve already seen that one.”

I’d been hearing about this Doctor so I turned to our family expert and asked Tiny, what’s this show all about? She broke down the plot in the following way: There’s aliens and they scare people and The Doctor steps on them and then takes them to the house. And it’s either scared … or fun.

photo

Me too, Doctor. Me too.

Well, since I LOVE things that are either scared or fun, I decided to give it a try. And while I sincerely tried and tried and tried, I just couldn’t get into it. I would put it on before bed only to fall asleep and have to spend annoying minutes the next day figuring out what I’d seen the night before. As I neared the end of the first season, I was lamenting. I really, really wanted to like this show.

Then, one night last week, it was late and I had to be up early the next morning. But hey, Doctor Who wasn’t going to keep me up, right? So I put it on and found The Doctor and Rose had traveled back to 1941 where a gas mask-faced little boy was wandering around London asking “Are you my mummy?”

I’ve barely done anything since. In four days, I finished the first season, watched all of the second and am about two-thirds of the way through the third.

There have been many moments filled with wonder over the last few days, but the show completely broke my heart with the last episode of the second season. I think it happened sometime Saturday night and I wept more for The Doctor and Rose than I did at the end of Downton Abbey (though I may still be in shock over the latter). I knew Rose wasn’t forever, so I had avoided IMDb not wanting to ruin anything, but as soon as that episode was over I had Billie Piper’s profile pulled up. And it told me she’s back in season four! At this point, I might be chasing Rose a little bit and I feel kind of guilty because I like Martha, but …

Tiny on the other hand will not watch anything after the end of the first season. She’s totally pissed, demands to know where The Doctor is and no amount of trying to explain the whole regeneration thing is going to convince her that David Tennant IS, in fact, her Doctor. She’s destined to repeat the first season and so is my sister since Tiny refuses to let anyone else watch those other episodes either.

As for me … I quite like this Doctor. I have to admit, he sort of makes my heart a little swimmy and this is never a bad thing when it comes to obsessively consuming stories.

Anyway, Torchwood just got fast-tracked to the top of my list of things to watch. I’m not even going to try not to watch it, it’s just going to happen. I had thought for a minute that perhaps I should watch it with Doctor Who — one episode of each at a time — but I couldn’t stop clicking next episode and am not about to start now.

Things I’m watching right now: Doctor Who. Also, as they happen, Once Upon A Time, Arrow, Supernatural, Nashville, Project Runway and Nikita. But honestly, I could barely stand to be torn away from the TARDIS long enough to watch any of these this week and still have some catching up to do.

Things I’m reading right now: Anything involving Arthurian legend I can get my hands on — specifically John Steinbeck’s The Acts of King Arthur and His Noble Knights, Deepak Chopra’s The Way of the Wizard — and Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman (I’m trying to save it, because I’m almost to the end of Vol. 1 and don’t have access to Vol. 2, but it’s just so good!) I finished The 21 Lessons of Merlyn by Douglas Monroe this week and, while it wasn’t the most entertaining read, it was good research for a project I’m working on.

Things I’m trying not to watch right now: There are shows other than Doctor Who? Oh, yeah, there’s that one called Torchwood. I’m going to check that out as soon as I possibly can.

Things I’m trying not to read right now: Homeport by Nora Roberts (which I’ve somehow never read and is just sitting there on my bookshelf … waiting), The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella (also on the bookshelf), A Game of Thrones (I’ve promised myself I can read this series in July)

So, the burning question in my mind is: If you had the keys to the TARDIS, where would you go?

About Jodie Fletcher

When not obsessively consuming stories, I also find time to write and go outside. And take pictures of animals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

